The case of me not being able to post here!

I promised you another episode of Windows 8.1 series but I could not fulfill my promise due to not being able to post. Every time I tried to open my blog, I encountered a name resolution error.

Comodo Dragon v28.0.4.0 failed to open WordPress.com.  showing Err_Name_Resolution_Failed

Comodo Dragon v28.0.4.0 failed to open WordPress.com, showing Err_Name_Resolution_Failed

Unfortunately, sometimes, spotting the cause of the simplest of problems is unbelievably difficult.

Human lives with his assumptions. The sooner he realize that one of his assumptions is wrong, the better because wrong assumptions can make troubleshooting impossible. My browser, Comodo Dragon v28.0.4.0, could not connect to Internet and so I assumed my DNS service is broken… until I realized that it isn’t because everything else besides Comodo Dragon was able to connect to the Internet.

Comodo Dragon settings: Secure DNS is found in Privacy section. You can use the search box.

Comodo Dragon settings: Secure DNS is found in Privacy section. You can use the search box.

Comodo Dragon can resolve domain names through Comodo Secure DNS Service. This function is enabled by default and may be disabled via Dragon menu → SettingsPrivacy section and removing the check mark from the box in front of “Enable malware domain filtering (Comodo Secure DNS)“. For some reason, this service is not responding to my computer. (Is it temporarily down?) So, by disabling the function, I am once again able to reach my blog and the rest of the Internet. Fortunately, my ISP also implements Secure DNS.

Posted on 19 July 2013, in Computers and Internet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

