Downloading Windows Rights Management Services Client with Service Pack 2

Two days ago, I installed Windows Rights Management Services Client with Service Pack 2 on an office computer. There, I realized that the latest version of Windows Rights Management Services Client with Service Pack 2 – which I am going to call RMS from now on in this article – should be downloaded from this web page:

“An update is available to remove the application manifest expiry feature from AD RMS clients”, Microsoft Support.

Today however, while I was browsing through the list of RMS downloads for various operating systems, I browsed RMS for Windows XP and RMS for Windows Server 2003. Something caught my eyes that wouldn’t normally have had caught my attention if I was browsing any other pair of RMS downloads: The name of the files seemed similar to me. With closer examination, I discovered that not only the file names were identical, but also the file sizes were the same (2.9 MB).

I was curious. Could it be that these files are in fact identical? Could it be that the only different between these two downloads is that one required Genuine Validation and the other didn’t? Eventually, curiosity took the best of me and I downloaded both. A comparison of these two inside WinMerge confirmed my suspicion. They were identical.

Right now, I suspect RMS for Server 2008 x86 and RMS for Vista x64 might be identical too; after all, both of them have the same name and both of them are 9.4 MB large. Same suspicion goes for RMS for Windows 7 x64 and RMS for Server 2008 R2 x64; they are both 2.2 MB.

Posted on 17 July 2010, in Windows Administration. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Http://Www.Allvoices.Com/Contributed-News/13813117-Stabsichtigkeit-Augenlasern-Augenklinik-Euroeyes

    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d
    like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

Leave a comment

