Acquisitions in the Computers and IT World

I’ve just received Nokia Security News newsletter: Nokia has acquired Check Point. That came as a big surprise. I didn’t expect it so suddenly.

Perhaps you don’t know Nokia, but you may know Check Point. Nokia is Finnish communication corporation and a well-known cell phone manufacturer. The first cell phone I saw in my life was a Nokia 6110. My first cell phone was a Nokia 8210. I still have it but it doesn’t work anymore, especially inside US. Check Point, on the other hand, makes everything related to network and security. It owns Zone Labs that makes ZoneAlarm, a prominent Firewall.

I guess I should really make a list of acquisitions that attracted my attention. Let’s see. We have:

  1. AOL: CompuServ
  2. Adobe: Micromedia
  3. HP: Compaq
  4. Checkpoint: Zone Labs
  5. AMD: ATI
  6. Autodesk: Alias Systems
  7. Microsoft: Winternals
  8. Vivendi: Activision (= Activsion Blizzard)
  9. Nokia: Checkpoint

Perhaps the most suprising ones were Adobe: MicromediaHP: Compaq and Microsoft: Wininternals. Although, Microsoft: Winternals shouldn’t have really surprised me, since Microsoft keeps devouring other companies. (So is Symantec.) Yet it did. Autodesk: Alias Systems is also noteworthy. 3ds Max (formerly 3D Studio MAX) and Maya are now two competing products from the same producer!

Of course, acquisition are very common in the computer world. They don’t always come as surprise. Sometimes, they just come as a simple "Oh, really?" like Seagate: Maxtor. It wouldn’t surprise me if Microsoft acquire Borland or CodeGear (yes, I know Borland no longer own CodeGear), or Ubisoft acquire EA Games.

Posted on 14 April 2009, in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

